h1

Comprehension

September 22, 2008

Sometimes I have to admit that I am amazed by my kids. Especially the oldest one. There is just something way cool about the first time something just hits you. For example, yesterday I had a severe chocolate craving. Knowing that I would need to make something to slate it, I invited the girls to help…

Me: “Who wants to help make cookies?” (said in a sing song voice)

Girls: [insert crickets chirping]

Me: “Really, no one wants to make cookies?”

Girls: [more crickets]

About this time I looked to see what they were doing. M was designing more of her famous “hug tickets” (she freely gives them out with a magic number on them, which you trade into her for hugs), while L was playing with her unicorns. Even though they were busy with worthwhile pursuits, I still knew they would enjoy helping with the cookies and they would regret not coming later on.

That was when I mentioned to Sultry Husband that I felt rather like the little red hen. M overheard my comment and suddenly it was cool to leave the hug tickets and come running. She said that she didn’t want me to ever feel like the little red hen who makes the bread all by herself and is lonely.

So sweet! Not only did I get my helpers, but I found out that she actually remembered the story and figured out from my little comment that I was unhappy. Then she decided that there was something she could do on her own to fix the situation. I was glad she did, the whole thing brought a smile to my face…

3 comments

  1. That’s so sweet, awesome and wonderful!

    (and… you got chocolate out of the deal. Always a plus.)


  2. That’s so neat! Jaedin is starting to show little bursts of comprehension like that every now and then. I love it 🙂

    AND you got chocolate! 😀


  3. Mmm, chocolate. And hug coupons. And kids who know what you’re talking about.



Leave a comment